Of Musings and Wonderings











{July 3, 2012}   Tweet Tweet

So, I am now on Twitter. I avoided it like the plague for, well, since it’s come out. Mainly because I wasn’t sure about it. But I joined today (@gracebunting, for anyone who’s interested). A friend suggested I do it, explaining it was a good way to get some attention on me. Not that I’m an attention seeker (most of the time, anyway). But seeing as I’m going to be self-publishing on the Kindle in the near future, I need as much internet publicity as I can get. The self-publishing thing was the main reason I got this blog, too. Anyway, as of right now, I am following 17 people, including comedians, actors (because I couldn’t not follow Neil Patrick Harris) and a few book related things, too. I also have one follower. I think my must have clicked on my name by accident, seeing as I currently do not have any tweets up.

Which brings me to another point. What the hell do I write as my first tweet? I find it hard to condense my thoughts anyway, how do I write something significant (as it is my first) in 140 characters? I can imagine myself writing out line after line after line, perfecting it and redrafting it and trying so hard to write something that will make people think I’m worth following. And I don’t want to fall into the trap of simply saying “I had a lovely curry for tea with my dad. #Delicious #Spicy” (which I totally did. My mouth is still burning.)

Maybe I’ll just settle for the first line of the novel…but then I’ll most likely end up writing and rewriting that again and again, too.

It’s difficult. So what do I do? Right now, I think I’m just going to go watch Eastenders and come back to it later. Let me know if you’re on Twitter and, if you are…what did you put for your first tweet? (I really need some inspiration here!)

yhosby says:

I recently joined Twitter too, and it was scary at first, but now I’m used to it. My first post talked about the place where me and my writing buddies meet in the mornings is a haunted cafe! Can’t get better inspiration than that. I usually give a tweet about writing or editing with those annoying hashtags LOL b/c I read somewhere that authors/writers should treat Twitter as a business to promote. I’ll admit I got sidetracked this weekend because I was excited about watching “Magic Mike” lol.

Another good thing to do is allow your blog posts to automatically upload to your Twitter account. I love retweeting other people too, especially if they’re in the writing/publishing industry.

Good luck with twitter and your publishing goals!

Keep smiling,
Yawatta



Sweet, haunted cafe sounds cool. I think the hashtags are a good idea, but some of them, to me, seem like the pages on Facebook where you can like ‘Eating’ and ‘Sleeping’. Just makes it sort of redunant. But for the most part, yeah, I do think it seems like a very good tool for promoting. I’ll keep that in mind about allowing the blog to automatically upload – would be good to expand Twitter and the blog from either side.
Thanks!



Zen says:

I don’t really remember what I had for my first tweet… I think maybe something about finally succumbing to the appeal of it, but I can’t be too sure!



I was going to have something along the lines of succumbing to Twitter, but not too sure. Sounds like it would be the most popular first tweet, though. Tweet still sounds weird to me though as it’s Twitter, and not Tweeter…didn’t really think that through, did they? šŸ˜›



Leave a Reply

et cetera
