Of Musings and Wonderings











{November 26, 2012}   Resuming Normal Service

As anyone who saw the blog post I put up yesterday knows, I managed to finish NaNoWriMo with five days to spare. I think it’s the earliest I’ve ever finished; my first two attempts failed before I even really got started, back when I was 18 then 19. Blame it on school and working shifts that were 12 – 8. Anyway, for the three years at Uni, I managed to complete it; in my first year, I had been invited to go out with a few of the guys, and agreed knowing it wouldn’t leave me any time to finish before midnight that night. When I went to meet my mate, he told me the bus was coming in fifteen minutes. (The quickest way to the bus stop was less than two minutes.) Ready for the night out, I darted back to my room, turned my laptop back on and hastily wrote the last 500 words.

The following year, I think I finished slightly early. Last year, (and I checked my word count tracker yesterday to see) I managed to finish on 30th November. I didn’t think I’d do it early this year, but working regular, 8 – 5 hours meant I had plenty of time in the evening to write. It also helped that I had an idea that I could take literally anywhere. The novel itself is still far from finished, and in terms of story, it’s only halfway through. Concentrating on the story, I was actually surprised that it was over 50,000. Looks like it’s going to be a long novel.

It does mean, however, that I can now return to normal. For me, that means working on multiple stories at once, doing two chapters of each before putting it aside for a while and working on something else. I learnt a while ago that I work better that way; it helps me avoid writer’s block, and means I’m constantly able to work on new/different ideas.

But, for this week, I’m going to split my time between adding some more to my NaNoWriMo novel and my main work-in-progress, the edit of Play the Game. I’ve almost finished the latter – it’s a novella that currently stands at just over 20,000 words, and I’m hoping it’ll end up just over 25,000, if not more.

It also means I can return to updating this more. On that note, you can expect a few review blogs coming up. On what, I hear you ask! Well, just to give you a hint, here’s just a few of the things I’ve watched/read over the last few weeks –

Resistance (film)
Brave (film)
A Song of Ice & Fire: A Storm of Swords (book – finished part 1, currently working through part 2.)
The Shining (book)
Glee (TV)
The Secrets of Crickley Hall (TV)
Once Upon A Time (TV)
American Horror Story (TV)

Annnd, well, it’s December next week, so I’ll be turning my attention towards Christmas. Stay tuned, and I’ll see you in my next post.

What have you been up to this month? NaNoWriMo? Christmas shopping? Gone on an adventure?

And, for all writers who may be reading this – how do you found you write best? I always love to read other’s tips and tricks.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
