Of Musings and Wonderings











{December 17, 2012}   For Writers: A Blog Chain (And A Bit About My Book, Too!)

So, I got tagged by A.J Race to participate in this, for which I’m hugely thankful. See, I’m on the verge of finishing Play The Game, my current main work-in-progress, and have sort of been looking for an excuse to talk about it. As soon as it’s finished, I’m going to be looking out for people to read over it and give me some feedback. (If you like the sound of it, just drop me an e-mail at gracebunting@hotmail.co.uk) Anyway, rather than tag people, I’m just going to leave this as an open thing. Just drop me a comment, so I can at least check yours out. (And if you haven’t already, go check out A.J Race’s blog. It’s good.)

What is your working title of your book? Play The Game. Working title but I think at this point, it’s pretty much set in stone.

Where did the idea come from for the book? Heh…what a story. Okay, so first semester at University, I came home for a weekend, met this guy, really cute, and headed back to Uni. Nothing happened. (As a side-note, I was six hours away) A few weeks later, I met another guy. Very different. Again, nothing happened. Apart from a few texts with both of them. (And an interesting train journey home for a friend’s birthday. I’d planned to meet up with Guy #1 after not hearing from Guy #2, only to have Guy #2 text me when I was on the train to see what I was doing that night. Never saw either of them again after that.) My brain tends to take situations like that and go, yeah, but what if this happened…or if it happened to a girl, and she totally fell in love with the guy-at-University but then he hurt her and she goes home but she has to go back! It basically goes off on tangents. The actual story became so much more than that, but that’s where the idea came from.

What genre does your book fall under? Romance. But when it was on Fictionpress, I had a few people comment that it didn’t feel like a ‘typical’ romance. Which makes me very happy. It’s not chick-lit, or erotica, or anything like that. Okay, it’s only ‘romance’ because that’s the easiest thing to put it under. Could be ‘drama’, too, but to me it’s just the story of a girl.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I’m not good with actors/actresses, especially as the characters are in their early twenties, so no Jensen Ackles. And they’re British. Sooo no Americans. (Makes it more difficult as almost everything I watch is American. And, again, no Jensen. But one day, Jensen, you WILL be in a movie version of one of my books. Hopefully.) Err I’ll be back after Googling young British Actors. Hang on. Okay, Nicholas Hoult as Nate, even though he’s barely in Play The Game. And because I don’t want him to be typically drop dead gorgeous, Colin Morgan as Harrison. Mainly because I saw a picture of him with a beard and was like “Hell yeah!” Robyn is the most difficult. She should have a bit of an edge to her, and be pretty but not in the typical stunning actress way. Okay, have an unknown as Robyn. I prefer it that way.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Christmas holidays were supposed to be about having fun, but for Robyn it means trying to get over one guy, failing in not falling for another and trying to keep her family together.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Self-published, via Kindle, because I can’t currently afford to self-publish any other way and I want to get something out there. So, yeah, coming soon to Kindle!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I really have no idea. Not that long, I don’t think. It was only around 20,000 words at the time, maybe a lot less. But it’s taken me six months to finish this edit of it.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Another one that’s really hard to answer. Like I said above, it’s not a typical romance, and I don’t think I’ve read anything it could be compared to. (Not to say there isn’t books out there like it. I just haven’t come across them.)

Who or what inspired you to write this book? I will happily admit than whenever I write something vaguely romancy (or with a male protagonist), it’s been the men in my life who usually spark of ideas. My dad and brothers are polar opposites to the dad and big brother in the book, but there are some moments where aspects of them could shine through. And it means I could take what my dad and brothers are really, really not, and create two men who just don’t know how to be the people they should be. And yeah, there are aspects of different guys I met in my Gap Year in both Harrison and Nate, although not a lot from any one person. Plus, well, a lot of it is more the experience than anything else, no matter who was there during that experience.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Most female romance leads seem, to me, to be career women or teenagers. Robyn isn’t. She’s a young woman struggling to find her place in the world, coping with the difficultly of feeling like she’s leaving behind something important in going back to London. And it’s not just Harrison. She’s seen her family fall apart and she’s trying not to let that happen again. Basically…it’s not just fluffy boy-meets-girl. It’s more girl-meets-boy-while-family-shit-kicks-off.

So, there we go. What do you think?

A.J.Race says:

Hehe, thanks for mentioning me. It sounds pretty interesting. Side note on Self publishing, CreateSpace and Lulu are free, so if you want a paperback/hardcover those are the places to go. The only cost is actually purchasing your book and as far as the paperback on CreateSpace it’s pretty cheap. My current book is around 500 pages and only cost me about $10.



Hm thanks for the tip. I’ll have to look into it. To be honest, I kind of want to see how it does on Kindle before I branch out, and it’s still a novella. But it’s something for me to think about when I get the sequel edited – to me, I think they’d make a good book but only together.



A.J.Race says:

I understand. 🙂



Is your book now available? All my books are e-books for the same reason as you – there is no cost entailed in self-publishing an electronic book on Kindle or other similar platforms. Good luck with your book, Kevin



I’m actually still working on it! Other projects plus work and life have, unfortunately, taken over. It’s ready for editing, again, but I just need to find someone willing to beta-read it. I can’t afford to hire an actual editor to do it.



I know the feeling as I, also work full time and fitting in writing round other commitments can be extremely difficult.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
