Of Musings and Wonderings











{April 11, 2013}   What I’ve Learnt From My Goodreads Recommended List

I joined Goodreads years ago, when the main things I read were grabbed from the Young Adult section of the library. So, a few of the books on my ‘Read’ shelf are, well, a bit too young for me now. But recently, I decided to get back into the site, mainly to keep a track of what I’m reading and, also, in the hopes that it would give me some guidance on what to read next.

Today, I had a look over my ‘Recommended For You’ page. And I learnt something.

I am reading way too similar things.

Seriously, just check out what my recommended page looks like.

goodreads recA lot of very similar looking books, and none, really, that caught my eye.

I really need some more diversity in my book choices.

See, a lot of the ones up there are either horror (blame my love for Stephen King) or supernatural type romances. I can see why Goodreads has suggested these to me. Recently, I’ve been making my way through the Song of Ice & Fire series, the Anita Blake novels and the Sookie Stackhouse novels. And I’m thoroughly enjoying them all. But Bras and Broomsticks, Undead and Unwed and The Ghost and The Goth really do not look the type of books I would like. Hell, I could be wrong. I am, after all, judging these books based purely on their very girly, very chick lit covers. They could be amazing. They could open my eyes to a whole new world. But I’m still not going to read them. At least, not right now. I guess I can kind of see why two series about girls and the supernatural community – both of which contain love triangles with werewolves and vampires – could lead Goodreads to think I might like some more supernatural romance in my life. But in both series I’ve been reading, the romance isn’t the main focus. Okay, so it is as times in Sookie Stackhouse’s life but not always.

The Fantasy recommendations contain similar books to those mentioned above, along with some more ‘traditional’ looking fantasy types. I know, I know, I’m still judging based on their covers. But, I don’t know, when I’m presented with a lot of books in this way then the cover is all I have to go on, unless I want to trawl through them all. And the horror…well, okay, again they all look pretty typical.

Maybe I’m being too fussy. But when I read a book, I want something I can be drawn into. I read on my way to work, on my lunch break and my way home, and the books I’ve been reading recently (including Roddy Doyle’s The Woman Who Walked Into Doors and Allison Hewitt is Trapped, by Madeleine Roux) have made me really look forward to going to work, because it means I get to read them. I want books like that. Books where the characters stick in my head for days and where I wish, just wish, I had thought of that idea first. (And, damn it, Roux, I did have a similar idea before! She just did it first. And, most likely, better.)

Okay, so, what I’ve established is this. I need something different, between the adventures of Anita and Sookie. I need something that will make Goodreads throw a variety of things at me to read, rather than…well, what I’ve got there already. I want to explore different worlds. Not that I’m fed up of them or anything, but I want to step away from vampires, zombies, werewolves and the general undead for a bit.

So, please, suggest some books to me! Throw some titles my way and I will add them to my ‘to read’ list. Give me something new. Something different. Something you read and just went “Bloody hell. Why did it have to end?” Oh, and for anyone who’s interested, I can be found here on Goodreads, with my real name which I may, just may, go into in another blog post. (As in, why I’m using Grace on here etc.)

Interesting….your page from Goodreads does reflect books with very similar designs, but if that’s what you like, you’re certainly entitled to read what you enjoy. For me, reading is one of my greatest pleasures, so I like to read things I enjoy. I used to read Stephen King like crazy, but then I turned into a chicken and started having too many bad dreams. 🙂 I’ve yet to sign up on Goodreads mainly because I barely have enough time to write anymore. I think you should stick with what you enjoy reading. 🙂



Thanks for the comment! To be honest, I don’t really review on Goodreads. It really is a time thing; if I’m not reading something, I’m writing my blog or working on my fiction stuff, although I would like to start adding some reviews in there too.

But here lies the problem; I had a good look through the recommendations yesterday, and even checking out the reviews and stuff there wasn’t a lot of stuff I was interested in. I don’t know if I’m being too picky, but right now I really would like to try reading something different. Guess I’ll just have to keep a close eye on the blogs I follow that do book reviews.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
