Of Musings and Wonderings











{May 2, 2013}   A Very Busy May

Ah. May. The start of Summer. For the first time in three years, I haven’t spent April dreading May. I haven’t been kept up at night working hard on researching essays or stories for University. I haven’t been stressed. It’s a nice relief. Although I think I would trade in this non-stressed feeling for the chance to go back to Uni. Anyway! There’s also two bank holidays this month, one this coming Monday and one on 27th May. I booked a day off today – meant to go to the doctor’s but I ended up going last week so had a nice lie in and now working on my writing and catching up with other blogs.

As well as all this time off this month, I’ve got a busy few weeks at the end of the month. And I’m very excited for them.

Firstly, I’m going to see Blues Brothers in the theatre! I had a rough time back in February, and Mum asked me if I wanted to go see Blood Brothers. Of course I did! On my lunch break the next day, I eagerly headed to the theatre to get some tickets. Only problem was it was on the week after, and they had sold out. Before I went, I mentioned to the guys I work with I was going to get tickets for Blues Brothers. “That’s awesome!” one said, and I quickly corrected myself, adding, “Aw. Now I sort of wish it was Blues Brothers.”

When I got home that night, I mentioned that conversation to my mum and told her about the lack of tickets for Blood Brothers.

“I think Blues Brothers is on, too.”

Quick look on the internet proved she was right, and the next day I picked up two tickets for the show. Now, this was back in early March, so it felt like a long way away. But now, it’s three weeks from tomorrow and I cannot wait!

And if you do not love Blues Brothers, you simply have no soul.

I know what you’re thinking. That’s great. Really. But…well, that’s only one night, right?

Yeah, it is. And that Sunday, I get to spend the day with my brother (if I don’t end up killing him at some point) and going to see (drum roll, please)…

Thunder.

Journey.

And Whitesnake.

All in one amazing, classic rock filled gig. Tickets were bloody expensive, but I brought one for me and one for my brother as a birthday present. As one of his mates commented this morning, “If he’s not there, there is something wrong with the world.” And it’s a Bank Holiday the day after, so I’ll have a full day to recover from the epic-ness. And it is going to be epic. I love my classic rock, and this gig has two of the biggest classic rock bands still going. So, yeah, should be good.

Only problem is…a few weeks ago, I spotted a picture online. For some reason, I got it in my head that the band referenced in this picture (along with my favourite TV show) were playing at the gig. I don’t know where this idea came from, but it rooted itself in my head and stuck there for ages, until I actually thought about it and realised, nope, they will not be playing. I was kind of disappointed. Then I put on my Journey/Whitesnake/Thunder playlist, rocked out for a bit and cheered up.

Still going to try to get this on a t-shirt.

Still going to try to get this on a t-shirt.

So yeah, not going to see Kansas. (Are they still around? Do they still gig? I really have no idea. My brain just really likes messing with me sometimes.)

That Monday, I expect I’m going to be knackered. Like, absolutely shattered. Having pernicious anaemia – which I am planning to blog about, eventually, and which I just spelled correctly! with no spell check or anything! go me! – most likely will not help with that. But I am due for my jab the week before so fingers crossed that will keep my energy levels high enough for all this awesomeness.

And then, ladies and gentlemen, I am heading back to Thorpe Park. This time, I’m going with a very good friend of mine. Heading to London on the Friday, staying at my brother’s flat before going to the theme park on the Saturday. We’re staying there overnight in their new Crash Pad, and have two days in the park. Not bad for about £100, including transport costs. I am very excited about this. I love roller coasters and they’ve added in a backwards row to Swarm, so I’ll get to experience that. Plus, well, a lot of the rides were closed when I went in October, so maybe they’ll be open this time.

Technically, Thorpe Park is in June, but we’re heading there on the last day of May so I’m including it in my busy month thing.

If you like roller coasters, and you ever get the chance, go to Thorpe Park. I went on my own and I had a brilliant time. I’m super excited to go again, and share the experience with my good friend. Plus, brand new Crash Pad! So look out for that blog.

So yeah, an exciting month ahead of me! What about you, dear reader? Any big plans for the summer?

Excellent.Have a good time. Love the Blues Brothers. When my wife and I got married for the first time… (yes, we did it twice. We had a civil wedding and then a buddhist one).. we went home with our friends and a few beers and watched The Blues Brothers. 🙂



Nice. Sounds like a lovely way to spend the night. For some reason, as a kid, I was opposed with the opening to Rawhide. I might just be one of the only people my age who knows what the hell it is. So that scene ended up being one of my favourites in the film.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
