Of Musings and Wonderings











{September 12, 2013}   The Addiction Returns, 2013

Around this time last year, I published a blog post about how much I love television shows, especially American ones. Mainly, I was talking about this time of the year and how the series’ I love are coming back, as well as picking up a few new ones. I didn’t actually watch a lot of the new ones. I only just caught up with Arrow, dropped Nashville after one episode and barely made it through five minutes of Beauty and the Beast. (You can read the post here and part two here)

Well, this year, I’m more excited than ever. So here we go again; the shows I can’t wait to see come back and the shows I’m looking forward to starting.

Haven – September 13th

Haven is a small town where strange things happen. Based on Stephen King’s The Colorado Kid (which I now have on my Kindle!), the first series followed Audrey as she arrives in Haven and begins to realise the people there aren’t normal. Neither is she.

*SPOILERS*

Over the course of the first three seasons, Audrey finds out the troubles only return every twenty-seven years, and she returns with them. She is not the person she thought she was, and she discovers more about herself and her role in the troubles in the third series. It finished with Audrey stepping into a barn, supposedly to end the troubles, and good friend Duke jumping in after her, leaving Nathan behind. From the looks of the trailer, however, the troubles aren’t gone. And neither is Audrey. She has no idea who she is, so what will that mean for her, Duke and Nathan? I can’t wait to find out.

Sleepy Hollow – September 16th

The first of the new shows. Yeah, I’m excited for this. How can I not be? Ichabod Crane is killed in the civil war, taking with him a man, whose head he cuts off after shooting him doesn’t take him down. 250 years later, Crane wakes up in a new world. So does the headless man.

I don’t really know how to feel about the huge amount of ‘spin off’ TV shows. All but one of the new shows I’m looking to pick up this year are based off something else, and it’s a shame there’s not more original stuff going on. But they all look amazing. And different enough from the original to give a decent twist on something old. Sleepy Hollow fits nicely into that. Sure, it’s the typical fish out of water story, but clichés work for a reason. The show looks like it could be something really exciting, so I’ve got my hopes high for this one.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D – September 24th

I have only just found out about this and I am ashamed! Why is the internet not more excited about this? Agent Coulson lives, people! He’s alive! Though seeing as this is Joss Whedon, part of me is expecting him to die again just as we find out how really awesome he is.

So, we have the superheroes dominating the big screen, but what about the others? What about the humans who discover these strange beings and have to live with them day in, day out? S.H.I.E.L.D looks like it’s going to focus on them, with a few superhero types thrown in to spice up. Yes, it’s a sequel to the Avengers in TV format, but damn does it look good. And it’s a great idea. And it’s Joss Whedon! And…well, just watch the trailer.

Revolution – September 25th

Before clicking play, please note, the video does contain spoilers.

Okay. So…is the power back on or not? Because the video makes it kind of hard to tell. I’m going to go for not. Aaron is a genius, so it makes sense that he could turn it back off before the missiles hit.

But, really, where the hell can the series go from here? Series one was all about fighting Monroe and trying to get the power back on, and both of these seem to be moot points in series two. Instead, we seem to have a bunch of random new characters, while the characters we grew to know (and sometimes love) in season one seem to have been split up. Of course, Norma is gone, which sucks because she kicked ass. And it looks like Aaron could end up dead, too. So, two of the best characters potentially gone. What the hell? Like I said, hard to see what they’re going to do with this season. Fingers crossed it still turns out good, though.

I am constantly on the lookout for new things to read and see, so if you know of anything you think I should check out, drop me a line via e-mail or leave a comment below.

I’m totally with you regarding Haven, and also am looking forward to see Josh Whedon’s new work. But Haven is on absolute top of my To Watch list



First episode was pretty good. And Nathan remains my favourite character. As for Whedon, you see Dr Horrible’s Sing Along Blog? It’s well worth watching, especially if you like Neil Patrick Harris & Joss Whedon.



sounds that I should try watching it then, since I haven’t yet. So thanks for recommendations 🙂



The songs (yeah, it’s a musical) will be stuck in your head for days. Hope you enjoy!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
