Of Musings and Wonderings











{October 26, 2013}   Brace Yourselves, NaNoWriMo Is Coming…

nanowrimoLadies and gentlemen, ghosts and ghouls (it is, after all, almost Halloween), that time of the year is upon us once again. And, you know what, I am super excited for it.

I really do love NaNoWriMo. The first two times I tried, I failed quite miserably. Barely wrote anything. But for the last four years, I have somehow managed to hit the 50,000 word count before the end of November. At University, this was done between nights out, my birthday, visitors from home, essays and exams. Last year, it was done despite the fact that I was working a full-time job. Not only that, but I was in the midst of changing teams, taking on a lot of extra information.

This year, I’m working 8 – 4, so it’s more evening time for me to get stuck in. I have the 31st October and 1st November off, to give me a bit of a kick-start on the first day, and I’m taking the two days after my birthday off (13th & 14th November). Among the Halloween parties next weekend, the usual birthday meal with my family, a visit from my best friend from University and other family stuff that’s been going on recently, I’m hoping to have enough time to get ahead of myself early on so I don’t have to worry too much towards the end of the month. Oh! And the last day of the month is a Saturday. Which means I can stay up late on the Friday, and can do nothing but focus on the novel on the Saturday.

*deep breath*

I really am excited for it this year. I think part of it is because, unlike previous years, I’ve planned out bits and pieces of the novel. I did try this the first two years, but the ideas themselves fell a little flat early on. I was also in my last year of A Levels, then working a 12 – 8 shift in work, neither of which left a lot of time for novel writing, unfortunately. My first year of University, I wasn’t even going to do it. But 1st November, I had an idea for a novel which became Into The Night, (three versions of which, the third currently in progress, can be found on my Fictionpress page here) and decided to make it my NaNoWriMo novel. That year, I just about made it to 50,000. The last few years have, oddly, been easier, even if I have been busier. Into The Night turned into a trilogy, one I’ve loved writing, and although I’ve had two which I looked at after and kind of though ‘meh’, I have a special love for the first two NaNoWriMos I completed.

This year, I’m planning to do a horror novel. It’s going to be about a young guy, Mason, brought up as a hunter, going after various ghosts, ghouls, demons, all that stuff. Inspired, just a tad, by Supernatural, but Mason isn’t on his own, and there are going to be plenty of unnatural creatures working alongside him, as well as some other hunters that are coming alive, slowly, in my mind. Including two I’ve actually written a short story about (which you can read here if you so wish), called Seth and Holly. I started off by researching Celtic gods and Welsh myths and legends, as I want the novel, like a lot of my others, to have a Welsh feel to it. I’ve also looked into monsters from around the world, reading through Christopher Dell’s Monsters, A Bestiary of the Bizarre. And you know what, it’s made me really miss the research aspect of University.

I can’t wait to get started. And I will be posting excerpts up here, maybe along with a couple of character profiles and the like.

Bring it on!

In others news, I know I’ve been way behind in my TV reviews. I’ve also been behind in my actual TV reviewing. There’s been some bad family stuff going on recently, and things have gotten worse in the last week or so. I really haven’t had time for blogging, or even watching TV. But like I said, I will have a little more time in the next few weeks (hopefully!) so I can post (among other things) about Arrow, the novel Flu, Stephen King’s Dark Tower series and probably a lot of other things I’ve forgotten.

Oh, and Scardiff, which takes place tomorrow and I am oh so happily attending. My first horror expo! I’ll let you guys know all about it when I have a chance.

And, as I’m always interested in the people who read this, too, let me know if there’s anything you’re looking forward to this month. Participating in NaNoWriMo? Interesting events you’re attending? Or just looking forward to curling up by the fireplace with a nice cup of hot chocolate?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
