Of Musings and Wonderings











{January 4, 2014}   New Year, New Me?

Hopefully everyone’s Christmas and New Year went well. Mine…sort of did, sort of didn’t. See, 2013 was perhaps the worst year of my life. The worst year for my family. There were some awesome moments, of course, but dealing with all the crap that got thrown my way kind of outweighed that. I won’t go into the details, but my family has changed completely, and we’ve all been struggling with that. Christmas was never going to be a good day, but it was as good as we could make it, even if my dad’s Christmas present still hasn’t turned up. But my brother did make an excellent Christmas dinner, and we had a sort of enjoyable day, even if it did get very emotional.

New Year was better. Went to a friend’s flat, met some cool new people, had a good time and maybe too much to drink. Been back at work the last two days, and now, with a weekend to just chill, it’s time to start looking forward. To start thinking about what I’m going to do with this year.

So, my 2014 resolutions –

  • Get something published. Obviously. Need to get working on some short stories, editing stuff, polishing it, all that stuff I hate. But it has to be done.
  • Get fitter. I am so unhealthy right now. So, I ordered a treadmill. And my brother, bless him, got it all set up and ready to go. It’s currently sitting in the spare room, just waiting to be used.
  • Read outside my comfort zone. The last few days I’ve been going through Goodreads, adding books to my to read list that I usually wouldn’t glance twice at. I’m trying to read things that aren’t all about zombies or vampires or werewolves. I now have more classics, romances and just general non-supernatural stuff on my list.
  • Work towards getting a job I love. It’s not that I hate my job. It’s actually not too bad. But the pay is crap and it started off as just something to get some money for a few months back when I graduated. I’ve moved teams, but I’m in the same place I was summer 2012. I need to do something that makes me want to jump out of bed in the morning, that makes me smile to think about it. Not something I have to drag myself to.

What about you? Any goals for this year? Anything you’re hoping to achieve?

And if anyone out there has something they want read and reviewed, just let me know. Like I said above, I’m trying to read more varied stuff, and I’m completely willing to give anything a shot.

Here’s to a better 2014.

shalinisarahs says:

Sorry to hear that you had a rough 2013. Here’s to hoping you have a smashing ’14! 🙂



Thank you! Just got to look forward 🙂



Good luck with that list. You sure have started on a right leg by keeping it short, though I never make any New Year’s resolutions myself. Somehow telling myself that out of a blue I have to start or stop doing something just does not work either at all or gets out of steam way too soon to count for anything 😉
But I like your 3rd on reading outside the comfort zone, it reminds me so much of the time when I’d only read sci-fi and fantasy, and completely ignore anything else there is. Ah, and look at me now! While I still love sci-fi and fantasy, my list of ‘favorites’ would range so far I’d probably not be able to ever complete it. That’s like re-arranging my personal home library – every time I set out to put it into some sort of order, I end up with one or another book or even a series to read and re-read, then I get hooked so I go looking for something of that sort either from already ‘my’ author, either I google for similar ones 🙂 A never ending story indeed. Unfortunately, if I can always let new things in, I’m not always able to find a storage place for the new books that come in 😀



To be honest, they’re all things I’ve been trying to work on or wanted to work on for a while. New Year just seems like a good time to get down, focus and start over.

And yeah, I’ve been stuck in a bit of a reading rut recently. Really need to stretch myself out. I’ve read the odd different book, and I’ve enjoyed it, so now I’m really going for non-supernatural stuff, or like slightly different supernatural. My Goodreads to-read list is now almost 1000 books, after going on a bit of a binge the last few days of adding more stuff. And yeah, I have no storage for any of mine. They just keep piling up on the floor!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
